Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Sign In

Login with LinkedIn


Sign In securely

Haven't registered yet?

Online Surveys
News & Press: Press Release

The Association for Women in Science Announces New Board Members

Friday, July 11, 2014   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Allison Kimble
Share |

WASHINGTON DC, July 11, 2014
– The Association for Women in Science (AWIS) today announced the election of four new members to serve on its 10-person governing board, serving three year terms that began July 1, 2014. The governing board sets the strategic direction and provides insight and leadership to the national organization. The board, led by President Ann Lee-Karlon, PhD, each represent a broad range of scientific disciplines and bring with them diverse experience and expertise.

April Burke, Councilor –April Burke is the president and founder of Lewis-Burke Associates LLC. She has 30 years of experience in legislative and regulatory advocacy and analysis in areas related to higher education, science and engineering research, technology transfer, and health policy. Ms. Burke represents leading research universities and scientific societies with Congress, federal agencies, and the White House. She received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Stanford University, where she was Phi Beta Kappa, and is a graduate of George Washington University National Law Center; Ms. Burke has been an AWIS member since 2005.

Pam Marrone, Treasurer –Pamela Marrone, PhD, is the CEO and founder of Marrone Bio Innovations (MBII: NASDAQ). In December 2013 she was named the Sacramento Businessperson of the Year for the Sacramento, CA region by the Sacramento Business Journal. Her peers have elected Dr. Marrone as a Fellow of AAAS (American Assoc. for the Advancement of Science). She has a B.S. in entomology with Honors and Distinction from Cornell University and a PhD in entomology from North Carolina State University. Dr. Marrone has been an AWIS member since 1994.

David Ruth, Councilor –David Ruth is executive director of the Elsevier Foundation, which funds programs to promote access to scientific and medical information in the developing world, expand the participation of women in science, and enhance professional education in health care. Mr. Ruth earned a master’s degree from the Columbia University School of International Affairs, with a specialization in international economics, and a bachelor’s degree in international relations from the University of Wisconsin. Mr. Ruth has been an AWIS member since 2011.

Elizabeth LaTorre Travis, Councilor –Elizabeth Travis, PhD, is the associate vice president for Women Faculty Programs, Mattie Allen Fair Professor in Cancer Research and Professor in the Departments of Experimental Radiation Oncology and Pulmonary Medicine at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. Dr. Travis is an internationally recognized scientist who has made seminal contributions to our understanding of the effects of radiation on normal tissue. She is a fellow of the American Society of Radiation Oncology, recipient of the Leadership Development Award from the Group on Women in Medicine and Science of the Association of American Medical Colleges. Dr. Travis is a tireless advocate for women faculty and is committed to furthering their academic careers and seeing them appointed to leadership positions.  Dr. Travis has been an active AWIS member since 2008.


Allison Kimble

Communications Manager


© 2016 AWIS
Association for Women in Science
1667 K Street NW, Suite 800
Washington, DC 20006
202.588.8175  |