Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Sign In

Login with LinkedIn


Sign In securely

Haven't registered yet?

Online Surveys
News & Press: Outside Sources

2014 Fields Medal Winners Announced

Tuesday, August 12, 2014   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Allison Kimble
Share |

On Wednesday, August 13, 2014 AWIS learned that for the first time the Fields Medal has been awarded to a woman, Dr. Maryam Mirzakhani.  Described as the “Nobel Prize of Mathematics,” the medal is awarded up to four mathematicians every four years for remarkable achievement.  The medal has two restrictions: an age limit, recipients must not turn 40 before January 1 of the year in which the medal is awarded; and the recipient’s achievements must be bound to the advancement of pure mathematics.

Congratulations to Dr. Maryam Mirzakhani on being recognized for her scholarly achievements on the geometry on Riemann surfaces.  Dr. Mirzakhani is a Professor of Mathematics, teaching Techmṻller Theory, Ergodic Theory at Stanford University.  

Although it took 78 years to accomplish, we congratulate the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) for finally recognizing a woman.  For more on the recognition of women in STEM for scholarly achievement, visit

For more information: 

These 4 People Just Won The Most Prestigious Award In Mathematics

A Tenacious Explorer of Abstract Surfaces

© 2016 AWIS
Association for Women in Science
1667 K Street NW, Suite 800
Washington, DC 20006
202.588.8175  |