Association for Women in Science Announces FY 2017 Governing Board Election Results

Jul 13, 2016Press Release

For Immediate Release

Amy Neale

WASHINGTON, DC, Wednesday, July 13, 2016 – The Association for Women in Science (AWIS) has announced the election of a secretary and three new councilors to serve on its 14-person national governing board. The governing board sets the strategic direction and provides insight and leadership to the national organization, its chapters and affiliates. The board, chaired by President Bahija Jallal, PhD, reflects the broad range of scientific disciplines and work sectors AWIS represents, each bringing with them diverse experience and expertise.

  • Robert Powell, Secretary – Dr. Robert Powell has been a faculty member at the University of California Davis since 1984. From 2002 until 2011 he was the chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science. Besides his academic position, Powell serves as the science advisor to the Secretary of the California Department of Natural Resources. In May 2014, he was appointed to chair the Science and Technology Committee. He is a member of the Society of Rheology, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, American Chemical Society and the American Physical Society. Powell is also a Fellow of the American Physical Society. He holds his bachelor’s, master’s and PhD from Johns Hopkins University.
  • Vasudev Bailey, Councilor – Dr. Vasudev Bailey is a principal at Quid and leader of the global healthcare practice where he guides senior leaders on their business and commercial strategy through the use of data science, software technology and Big Data. Vasudev has more than 10 years of strategy and operational expertise, four patents and more than 30 publications. He received his PhD in biomedical engineering from the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine where he was recognized as both a Siebel and a Medtronic Scholar. Vasudev graduated magna cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa from University of California Irvine where he was also recognized as both a Regents and a Henry Samueli Scholar.
  • Jean I. Feldman, Councilor – Ms. Jean I. Feldman is head, Policy Office, Division of Institution and Award Support, within the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) Office of Budget, Finance and Award Management where she has been responsible for establishing proposal and award policies and procedures for its assistance programs. Feldman is an active member and board member of the National Council of University Research Administrators and has served on its Peer-to-Peer Review Committee. Prior to working at NSF, she worked in policy positions with the U.S. Air Force Office of Scientific Research and the U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command. She has a BA in history and political science at Wright State University and a master of public administration from George Washington University.
  • Susan Windham-Bannister, Councilor – Dr. Susan Windham-Bannister is a world-renowned innovation expert, recognized by the Boston Globe as one of the “10 Most Influential Women in Biotech” in 2013. Windham-Bannister currently serves as managing partner of Biomedical Innovation Advisors LLC, as well as the president and CEO of Biomedical Growth Strategies, LLC. She received a BA from Wellesley College, a doctorate in health policy and management from the Florence Heller School at Brandeis University and a doctor of science from Worcester Polytechnic Institute (honoris causa). Windham-Bannister has received fellowships from the Ford Foundation, Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School and the Center for Science and Policy at Cambridge University in England.

1629 K Street, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20006
Contact Us
(202) 827-9798

Registered 501(c)(3). EIN: 23-7221574


1629 K Street NW, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20006
(202) 827-9798

© 2021 Association for Women in Science. All Rights Reserved.

© 2021 Association for Women in Science. All Rights Reserved.